Sunday 18 February 2018 / 01:56 PM


It’s one of the most exciting parts of the Australian cricket season – the WBBL and BBL are back for another year and it’s a blockbuster schedule cricket fans will not want to miss.

It has been announced that men’s and women’s seasons will be expanded with extra matches, including the possibility of regional venues, much to the delight of T20 fans.

A jam-packed 43 men’s matches will make up the BBL|07 season, along with a 59-game season for the women. The men will play 10 games each, spread evenly between home and away games.

The Rebel Women’s Big Bash League will kick off on the December 9 at Etihad Stadium where the Renegades take on the Sydney Thunder 10 days before the seventh season of the BBL begins.

The first game of BBL|07 will see a Sydney derby, with the Thunder hosting the Sixers at Spotless Stadium.

The WBBL and BBL have 22 double-headers this season, with 55 games being broadcast live on Network Ten, however, only 12 WBBL games will be broadcast, including four on the opening weekend, with the remaining games live-streamed via

The women’s competition will see fixtures played away from major venues in each city, with nine matches in the WBBL|03 fixture still having unconfirmed venues.

The BBL has kept its promise since their announcement in January that fans will see matches played in new venues.

Tasmanian cricket fans will see a match in Launceston for the first time when the Hobart Hurricanes host the Sydney Thunder on December 30, the first confirmed match away from a regular T20 venue.

Special events such as the Adelaide Strikers’ home NYE game and the ever-popular derbies in Melbourne will return for BBL|07.

Entry level prices have remained unchanged for the seventh straight BBL season, with tickets for BBL|07 to go on sale from Monday, October 16.

Rebel WBBL|03: Sat 9 Dec 2017 – Sun 4 Feb 2018

KFC BBL|07: Tues 19 Dec 2017 – Sun 4 Feb 2018

To view the full fixture, visit

Add Comment

About the author

Ange Lowther

Based in Brisbane, Ange has come on board with Commentary Box Sports as a cricket reporter and features writer.

More cricket News

Special Features