Sunday 18 March 2018 / 04:34 PM


The starting teams for the NBA All-Stars clash have been announced, and there is no room for Russell Westbrook in the Western Conference  line-up – despite the Thunder linchpin averaging a triple-double this season.

The presence of the ultra-popular Steph Curry blocked Westbrook’s much-deserved place in the side. New Orleans big man Anthony Davis is the only first-time starter in the West All-Stars team.

Over on the Eastern Conference side of the fence, LeBron James is the only returning starter, with the Bulls’ Jimmy Butler and the Bucks’ Giannis Antetokounmpo making their first starts in the frontcourt and Raptors guard DeMar DeRozan also nabs his maiden All-Star start.

James’ Cavaliers partner-in-crime Kyrie Irving returns to the East line-up after missing last year’s All-Star game through injury. Isaiah Thomas was a notable omission from the East’s starting five.


Stephen Curry

James Harden

Kevin Durant

Kawhi Leonard

Anthony Davis



Kyrie Irving

DeMar DeRozan

LeBron James

Jimmy Butler

Giannis Antetokounmpo

Add Comment

About the author

Will Evans

CBS’s Editor-in-Chief and lead rugby league, union and cricket writer, Will is a Christchurch-based freelancer, also writing for Big League and Rugby League Review magazines, and The New Daily website. Will has written four rugby league books.

More nba News

Special Features