In the message, WhatsApp provides more details on what is happening Na 15 mi, When the new conditions come into effect. From that moment on, the information from the users will be shared with the parent company Facebook.
Nothing will change in the Netherlands. WhatsApp cannot share user information with Facebook within the European Union due to European privacy law.
If users do not accept the terms before the deadline, the account will not be deleted immediately, according to WhatsApp’s interpretation letter. “However, you will not be able to take full advantage of WhatsApp until you accept the updates. For a short period of time, you can still receive calls and notifications, but you will not be able to read or send messages through the application.”
After a few weeks, the inactive account policy will take effect. It takes four months for WhatsApp to delete an inactive account. During this period, users can still accept the terms and conditions to access their messages.
WhatsApp’s new policy caused an uproar among users. Alternative chat apps like Telegram and Signal saw their user numbers It goes up dramatically After WhatsApp announced the new terms.
“Web maven. Infuriatingly humble beer geek. Bacon fanatic. Typical creator. Music expert.”