Squads take shape for the T20 Cricket World Cup

It’s going to be a busy period for Twenty20 cricket with the Indian Premier League now reaching the crucial stage of the group phase. Just two days after that tournament comes to an end, the best international teams will assemble in the UAE for the seventh edition of the T20 World Cup.

On neutral territory, it’s going to be a very open contest this year but, with the national squads now confirmed, it’s possible to look more closely at the competition with a view to finding a winner.

India in the Lead

The sportsbooks can usually be relied upon to give a sound and impartial judgement on who is likely to take home the trophy. Currently, according to odds supplied by the best betting sites online attached to sbo.net, India are out in front as marginal favourites.

Close behind are the reigning 50 Over World Champions England with Australia in third place. Other teams worth considering include South Africa, New Zealand, Pakistan and the defending T20 Champions West Indies.

As the Indian Premier League comes to a conclusion, that winner market will be subject to change and sbo.net will continue to monitor the situation and make any necessary changes. While on this website, readers can also enjoy news and opinion articles relating to the World Cup and to cricket in general.

If that interest extends further, site visitors can take advantage of those odds by placing a bet. There is a wide panel of recommended bookmakers, many of whom have generous sign up deals. Other betting options such as Top Tournament Batsman and Top Tournament Bowler will also be in place.

See also  British Prime Minister Boris Johnson wants to ban transgender people from practicing women's sports | abroad

Favourites Offer Balance

India are the favourites as we’ve seen but the selectors sprang a surprise when they left out one of their most prolific batsmen, Shikhar Dhawan. The explosive left hander has been an important player at the top of the order for many years and he may well be missed.

In Dhawan’s absence, there will be more pressure on the senior batters including Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli. There is, however, good balance in the side with the pace attack led by Jasprit Bumrah backed up by experienced spinners Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin.

England Expects

As 50 Over World Champions, many are looking to England to make it a winning double at the end of 2021. Many of the squad that won the ODI World Cup in 2019 will be travelling to the UAE but, like India, there will be one key absentee.

Ben Stokes is taking an indefinite break from cricket as he safeguards his mental health and England will miss his all round capabilities. We wish him well but his brilliant batting, bowling and fielding will definitely be missed.

Others in Contention

New Zealand narrowly lost out to England in that 2019 World Cup final and the Kiwis are likely to be dangerous once again. They have a good mix of explosive batsmen who are balanced nicely by the patient accumulation of captain Kane Williamson.

The Black Caps also have highly effective seam bowlers in Trent Boult and Tim Southee but perhaps they lack a world class spinner and that could prove an issue on the slow surfaces of the UAE.

See also  Vitesse takes into account coach Leitch's departure to Bochum

Across the Tasman, Australia are the most successful team in the history of the 50-Over World Cup with five titles but they’ve yet to win the short form trophy. Perhaps they lack explosive batting depth and there will be serious pressure on the power hitters Glenn Maxwell and David Warner.

Elsewhere, you can never write off the West Indies. They are the only team to have won the T20 World Cup on two occasions and will travel with their usual mix of explosive batsmen and pace bowlers.

Pakistan can also be dangerous and this side won the second edition of the World Cup back in 2009. Behind them, South Africa and Sri Lanka will be hopeful of success but both sides are struggling in all forms of the game right now.

In all probability, the winner of the 2021 T20 World Cup will either be India, England, Australia, New Zealand or the West Indies. There are 16 teams in contention overall but it’s tough to see past that top five.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *