Police warn again about Android virus via fake SMS about package

Police warn again about Android virus via fake SMS about package

Criminals try to gain access to phones and banking details via text messages that supposedly come from package handlers. In May, these messages distributing FluBot malware on Android devices are gone so around. Today Police warned Back to practices, having recently added dozens of new victims. Police expect the number of victims to continue to rise.

The text message states that a package has been sent to you and that you can track the package via an application, for example, UPS or DHL. The app cannot be found in the Android App Store Google Play Store, but you have to install it manually. If you have, your phone is infected with malware.

The malware tries to steal money by secretly modifying the amount and recipient when transferring with fake pages. The victim only notices this trick when he looks at the scale or debt. The malware also checks if the user is using a cryptocurrency application and tries to loot these accounts as well.

Tracking and tracing leads to a fake app

“All of a sudden you get a message that a parcel is on its way to you? To track the mail, you will be asked to click on a tracking link. Be careful about this, because this is the time when malicious parties are trying to move. They give you the idea that you can actually track the package via track and trace, But what actually happens is that you are sent to a fake app via this link in the text,” the police said.

See also  Japanese government affected by Fujitsu data breach - computer - news

06 numbers

In addition to stealing personal information, FluBot can also store all numbers from your contact list. These 06 numbers also receive such a text message from phones infected with malware. This allows messages to spread quickly.

Over the summer, police warned that the malware was sending another type of fake text message, claiming there was a new voicemail message to click on.

you can do that

Malware only affects Android phones. People with an iPhone can receive such a text message, but even if you download the app, your device is not at risk. For Android users, just clicking the link is not directly dangerous, but installing the app is dangerous.

If your phone is infected with malware, there is really only one thing to do: reset the smartphone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *