Participation declined by Eurovision Song Contest Belarus |  culture

Participation declined by Eurovision Song Contest Belarus | culture

Richard Van de Crommert

The EBU broadcast umbrella informed the Belarusian broadcaster. The country will also have the opportunity to submit a completely different song. If no edits are made, or if no other song, the country will be disqualified this year.

Belarus wanted to participate in the festival this year with the song “Ya Nacuhu Tebya” (translated into English: I will teach you. By Galasy Zmesta. It is a song about how the dictator “taught” you) how to behave.

The Galasy Zmesta group publicly criticized its website the protesters who questioned the election results and said they could not remain indifferent to those trying to break up the country.

Since then, the video accompanying Belarus’s entry has been taken offline.


The song has already caused a storm of protests in recent days. The song glorified persecution and violence and came directly from President Lukashenko of Belarus. In fact, the song contrasts many of the demonstrations that have taken place in Belarus in recent months. The demonstrations strongly question the results of the presidential elections last year. Many countries, including the Netherlands, do not recognize the result. Lukashenko was named the last dictator in Europe.

Swedish Melodifestivalen removed Belarus from the jury for the national final next Saturday. Belarus was replaced by a jury from the United Kingdom

Twelve years ago, it was the last time that the Eurovision Song Contest was refused due to its political connotations. Then Georgia wanted to send 3G group song “We Don’t Wanna Put In” to the song event that was taking place in Moscow. Until then, the country was given the opportunity to adapt the song or send a different number. Then Georgia chose to withdraw.

See also  Ryan gives an update on a sick Boyer Jean: 'He's not feeling well' | show

The Eurovision Song Contest will be held in the Netherlands on May 18, 20 and 22 this year. 40 countries participate. Initially, 41 countries will participate, but Armenia withdrew on Friday 5 March 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *