Nine world champions have been nominated for the Global Athlete of the Year award

Nine world champions have been nominated for the Global Athlete of the Year award

These are Slovenian Christian Ceh (discus throw), Brazil’s Alison dos Santos (400m hurdles), Sweden’s Mundo Duplantes (pole vault), Morocco’s Sofiane El Bakkali (3000m steeplechase), Norway’s Jacob Ingbrigtsen (5000m), Grenada Anderson Peters ( Javelin throwing), Portuguese Pedro Piccardo (triple jump), Americans Noah Lyles (200 meters) and Grant Holloway (110 meters hurdles).

The only Kenyan long-distance sprinter, Eliud Kipchoge, who was also nominated, did not become world champion this year. He broke his own world record at the Berlin Marathon in September to a historic time of 2.01.09.

You can vote for candidates via social media until the end of the month, after which five contenders remain. The winner will be announced in early December.

The names of the nominees were already announced on Wednesday. Fimky Ball missed the list of ten nominees for the World Athlete of the Year award. Sydney McLaughlin, her American competitor in the 400-meter hurdles, was chosen by experts for the award. For the 22-year-old, her world championship silver medal in the 400m hurdles and her European titles in the 400m hurdles, 400m hurdles and 4x400m relay were not enough. The women’s nominees also include successful Jamaican runners Shelley Ann Fraser-Pryce and Sherika Jackson. They became world champions in the 100 and 200 meters respectively.

See also  Tokyo 2020 | Water polo players let victory over Australia pass

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *