Wednesday 21 February 2018 / 06:04 PM

Top Surfers Prepare For Billabong Rio Pro

BARRA DA TIJUCA, Rio de Janeiro/Brazil – The world’s best surfers have converged from around the globe to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil to contest for the ASP World Title at the Billabong Rio Pro and Rio Women’s Pro presented by Billabong. Stop No. 4 on the Men’s and Women’s ASP World Championship Tour holds a waiting period from May 7 – 18, 2014 (May 8-19 AEST). A selection of ASP World Tour standouts gathered today for a press conference in advance of the start of competition.


Athletes in attendance:

Gabriel Medina (BRA) – reigning ASP World Junior Champion and current ASP WCT No. 1

Mick Fanning (AUS) – reigning three-time ASP World Champion

Jordy Smith (ZAF) – defending event winner

Joel Parkinson (AUS) – current ASP WCT No. 2 and Billabong surfer

Carissa Moore (HAW) – reigning two-time ASP Women’s World Champion and current ASP WCT No. 1

Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) – five-time ASP Women’s World Champion and current ASP WCT No. 2

Alessa Quizon (HAW) – 2014 ASP WCT rookie and Billabong surfer

“I’m so excited to be here,” said Carissa Moore. “I have a different team here with me and I’m really looking forward to the event. I love it here Brazil, it’s so beautiful and it will be a fun event.”

“Every event on Tour is tricky,” said Mick Fanning. “I’ll see what happens but the main thing will be to get on the right waves. This is a fun event and I am hoping for a good performance.”

“The Women’s Tour has been coming to Rio for a few years now so I feel really comfortable here,” said Stephanie Gilmore. “It will be hard to do well here given how good everyone is, but there are fun waves and it’s beautiful here.”

“I can’t wait to see what the swell brings,” said Jordy Smith. “I’ve been looking forward to this event and I’m really excited. We’ll see what happens but I’ll be focused on choosing the right waves.”

“I’m really happy that I have a great support crew here,” said Alessa Quizon. “I’m confident and excited to be here. It’s a difficult event but I’m going to do my best.”

“My goal here is a result,” said Joel Parkinson. “I think this year will be a really good World Title race and we’ll see several different leaders. I don’t think there will be one person that will run away with it.”

“I have had the best possible start to the season in Australia,” said Gabriel Medina. “Regardless of conditions I have been training very hard to keep my lead and keep this momentum going. The pressure is a good thing and helps me to push harder and get the best result.”

Kai Otton (AUS) has officially withdrawn from competition and alternate Glenn Hall (IRL) will surf in his place. Billabong Rio Pro wildcards include national standouts Peterson Crisanto (BRA) and David do Carmo (BRA).

Courtney Conlogue (USA) will also be absent from competition due to an ankle injury sustained at Bells Beach and up-and-comer Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW) will make her ASP WCT debut as first alternate. Past ASP WCT campaigner Silvana Lima (BRA) will also compete as a wildcard.

Billabong Rio Pro Round 1 Match-Ups:

Heat 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Sebastian Zeitz (HAW), Tiago Pires (PRT)

Heat 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)

Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA)

Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Glenn Hall (IRL)

Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Mitch Crews (AUS), Peterson Crisanto (BRA)

Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), David do Carmo (BRA)

Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Dion Atkinson (AUS)

Heat 8: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Travis Logie (ZAF)

Heat 9: Julian Wilson (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Aritz Aranburu (ESP)

Heat 10: Nat Young (USA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA)

Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF), Owen Wright (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)

Heat 12: John John Florence (HAW), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

Rio Women’s Pro Round 1 Match-Ups:

Heat 1: Bianca Buitendag (ZAF), Coco Ho (HAW), Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)

Heat 2: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Dimity Stoyle (AUS), Johanne Defay (FRA)

Heat 3: Carissa Moore (HAW), Paige Hareb (NZL), Silvana Lima (BRA)

Heat 4: Tyler Wright (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA), Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW)

Heat 5: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Laura Enever (AUS), Alana Blanchard (HAW)

Heat 6: Lakey Peterson (USA), Malia Manuel (HAW), Aless Quizon (HAW)


Stop No. 4 on the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour, the Billabong Rio Pro and Women’s Pro Rio presented by Billabong will be held from Wednesday, May 7, to Sunday, May 18, 2014 (May 8-19 AEST) and will be webcast LIVE via


Follow Commentary Box Sports on Social Media!

facebook twitter alt instagram tumblr


Add Comment

About the author

Commentary Box Sports

Commentary Box Sports invites a forum of truth and uncensored discussion of not only Australia’s greatest pastime, the world's. We offer around the world, up-to-date coverage of the sports we love and live by.

More surfing News

Special Features