Monday 19 March 2018 / 07:54 PM

Stop #2 On The ASP: Margaret River Pro

Stop No. 2 on the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour (WCT), the Drug Aware Margaret River Pro, will get underway in less than two weeks with a holding period of 2 – 13 April.

The staggering beauty of Western Australia combined with the world-class surf will play host to the second stop on this season’s dream tour, where the world’s best surfers will continue their campaign to claim the title of ASP World Champion.

A long-time staple on the ASP Qualification Series (QS), this year is the first time in over 20 years that Margaret River has been a WCT stop for both the men and women. The women’s event regained WCT status in 2013 having last featured in 1996, while this year sees the men’s event upgraded to become part of the WCT for the first time since 1990.

“We’re really excited about holding the event in an extended twelve day window in an historically great month for surf. Surfing WA along with our major stakeholders have worked extremely hard to get this event elevated to WCT status where it belongs and we’re all looking forward to watching the world’s best surfers compete in Western Australian waters,” said Mark Lane, Surfing WA CEO and Event Director.

The ASP Top 34 and Top 17 will battle it out at Margaret River Main Break, a left-and right-hand reefbreak that can produce excellent waves from two to 20 feet, with infamous right-handers, The Box and North Point offering secondary locations.

“I’ve never done well there but Western Australia has great waves,” Gabriel Medina, current ASP WCT No. 1, said. “I have never been in the ratings’ lead before so I’m just going to focus on surfing my best and getting some more experience in Margaret River before the event starts.”

“It’s great to get a win at the first event on Tour and be back in the hunt,” Stephanie Gilmore, five time ASP Women’s World Champion and current ratings’ leader, said. “The Margaret River area is absolutely beautiful and I’m excited to get back there. Looking forward to a great event.”

The Drug Aware Margaret River Pro will be held from April 2 – 13, 2014.


Heat 1: Nat Young (USA), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Aritz Aranburu (EUK)

Heat 2: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)

Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Tiago Pires (PRT)

Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA)

Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Bede Durbidge (AUS), TBD

Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), TBD

Heat 7: Julian Wilson (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Dion Atkinson (AUS)

Heat 8: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Travis Logie (ZAF)

Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA)

Heat 10: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Owen Wright (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)

Heat 11: Kai Otton (AUS), Michel Bourez (PYF), Mitch Crews (AUS)

Heat 12: Gabriel Medina (BRA), John John Florence (HAW), Kolohe Andino (USA)


Heat 1: Courtney Conlogue (USA), Coco Ho (HAW), Alana Blanchard (HAW)

Heat 2: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA), Paige Hareb (NZL)

Heat 3: Carissa Moore (HAW), Alessa Quizon (HAW), TBD

Heat 4: Tyler Wright (AUS), Dimity Stoyle (AUS), Johanne Defay (FRA)

Heat 5: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Malia Manuel (HAW), Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)

Heat 6: Bianca Buitendag (ZAF), Lakey Peterson (USA), Laura Enever (AUS)


Follow Commentary Box Sports on Social Media!

facebook twitter alt instagram tumblr


Add Comment

About the author

Commentary Box Sports

Commentary Box Sports invites a forum of truth and uncensored discussion of not only Australia’s greatest pastime, the world's. We offer around the world, up-to-date coverage of the sports we love and live by.

More surfing News

Special Features