Sunday 25 February 2018 / 06:42 AM

FIFA reveals goal of the year nominees

FIFA has announced the nominations for the FIFA Puskas Award (best goal of the year between 3 October 2013 and 26 September 2014).

FIFA and a few Football Committee members selected the list.

Fans and football enthusiasts from across the globe will vote to decide which strike is the greatest, with the winner being announced on 12 January 2015 – the same day as the FIFA Ballon d’Or.

Amongst this esteemed list of players is our very own Tim Cahill for his remarkable goal against he Netherlands in the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic won the award last year for this acrobatic bicycle kick against England.

Here are all ten candidates in alphabetical order:

Tim Cahill – 18 June 2014, Australia vs. Netherlands.

Diego Costa – 23 November 2013 Atletico Madrid vs. Getafe.

Marco Fabian – 15 February 2014, Cruz Azul vs. Puebla.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic – 19 October 2013, Paris Saint Germain vs. SC Bastia.

Pajtim Kasami – 21 October 2013, Crystal Palace vs. Fulham.

Stephanie Roche – 20 October 2013, Peamount United vs. Wexford.

James Rodriguez – 28 June 2014 – Columbia vs. Uruguay.

Camilo Sanvezzo – 6 October 2013 – Vancouver Whitecaps vs. Portland Timbers.

Hisato Sato – 8 March 2014 – Sanfrecce Hiroshima vs. Kawasaki Frontale.

Robin van Persie – 13 June 2014 – Spain vs. Netherlands.

[YouTube / FIFA]

Add Comment

About the author

Commentary Box Sports

Commentary Box Sports invites a forum of truth and uncensored discussion of not only Australia’s greatest pastime, the world's. We offer around the world, up-to-date coverage of the sports we love and live by.

More other-sports News

Special Features