Sunday 18 February 2018 / 12:33 PM


Leicester City, the 5000-1 pre-season long-shots, are the 2015-16 Premier League champions following a dramatic 2-all draw between Tottenham and Chelsea.

Spurs needed a win at Stamford Bridge to keep the title race alive, and they powered to a 2-0 lead via first-half goals to Harry Kane and Son Heung-min.

But to the delight of Leicester players and fans, the Blues stormed back, with Gary Cahill scoring in the 58th minute and Eden Hazard netting the critical equaliser in the 83rd.

It was a sensational, spiteful match that erupted in a brawl after Danny Rose’s late tackle of Willian just before halftime. Spurs coach Mauricio Pochettino ran onto the field to get between the fired-up players.

Tottenham’s Belgian import Mousa Dembele allegedly eye-gouged Digeo Costa during the ensuing melee.

But the controversy mattered little to Leicester City, whose players gathered at Jamie Vardy’s home to watch the vital encounter unfold.

Leicester’s triumph is a modern-day sporting fairytale the likes of which we may not see again in our lifetimes.


Add Comment

About the author

Will Evans

CBS’s Editor-in-Chief and lead rugby league, union and cricket writer, Will is a Christchurch-based freelancer, also writing for Big League and Rugby League Review magazines, and The New Daily website. Will has written four rugby league books.

More premier-league News

Special Features