Wednesday 21 March 2018 / 09:59 AM


Flashback Friday goes all the way to 1986 and the Wallabies’ last win over the All Blacks at Eden Park.

The three-Test series in New Zealand was locked 1-all after the Wallabies won in Wellington and the All Blacks squared the ledger in Dunedin.

New Zealand, still emerging from the fallout of the rebel ‘Cavaliers’ tour, fielded a young side featuring John Kirwan, Joe Stanley, Gary Whetton, Steve McDowell, Frano Botica and captain David Kirk.

The visiting Wallabies, in the midst of Alan Jones’ outstandingly successful period as coach, featured the forward experience of Steve Poidevin, Tom Lawton, Jeff Miller and Steve Tunyman, brilliant backs Nick Farr-Jones, Michael Lynagh, David Campese and captain Andrew Slack, and future rugby league converts Matt Burke, Brett Papworth and Andrew Leeds.

In front of a 48,000-strong Kiwi crowd, Leeds propelled Australia to a 12-6 halftime advantage with a determined try after superb work by Papworth.

The unerring boot of Lynagh kept the desperate All Blacks at arm’s length throughout the second half, before a trademark Campese touchdown sealed an emphatic 22-9 result.

It would be Australia’s last Bledisloe Cup success until 1992.

The Wallabies have plenty of history to overcome if they are to replicate the feat of their ’86 alumni, however, losing their subsequent 16 Tests against the All Blacks at Eden Park, while they have not won a Bledisloe Test anywhere in the Shaky Isles since a 23-15 victory in Dunedin in 2001.

[YouTube – 99waylon]

Add Comment

About the author

Will Evans

CBS’s Editor-in-Chief and lead rugby league, union and cricket writer, Will is a Christchurch-based freelancer, also writing for Big League and Rugby League Review magazines, and The New Daily website. Will has written four rugby league books.

More rugby-union News

Special Features