Monday 19 March 2018 / 01:52 PM

Murphy named at No.2 for Waratahs clash

Ruaidhri Murphy will make his first appearance as a hooker on Saturday when the UC Brumbies travel to Sydney to take on the Waratahs.

Born and raised an Irish prop, Murphy has been pushed to the No. 2 jersey in the absence of Stephen Moore (knee), Siliva Siliva (knee, ankle) and Josh Mann-Rea (hamstring).

On the bench as cover at hooker is Luke Holmes, brother of former Brumby Josh Holmes, having been in top form for club side Warringah in Sydney’s Shute Shield. A former Australian Schoolboys captain, Holmes comes to the UC Brumbies with plenty of experience having previously played for the Waratahs, Force and Rebels.

With Sam Carter ruled out after the Wallabies first Test victory over France, Leon Power returns to the starting side in a re-jigged forward pack that also sees Jordan Smiler slide to the side of the scrum and Fotu Auelua back to the bench.

Ben Alexander returns to the starting side at tight-head prop for Ruan Smith, who also moves back to the bench with his brother, JP.

In the backs Robbie Coleman will celebrate his 50th game on the wing. Coleman made his debut against the Reds back in 2010 and has since gone on to cement a spot in the top squad in 2014.

A groin injury to Matt Toomua during the Wallabies last Test has forced several changes inside Coleman, with Christian Lealiifano set to start at flyhalf for the first time since UC Brumbies faced the Kings in April last year.

Andrew Smith comes into the starting side at inside centre, Jesse Mogg back to start at fullback, Clyde Rathbone to the bench and Pat McCabe has been ruled out with a shoulder complaint.

On the bench Jack Whetton (lock) and Lionel Cronje (flyhalf) have been recalled to the squad, rounding out a vastly different side to the one which defeated the Rebels just over a month ago.

Saturday, 28 June

Waratahs v UC Brumbies

ANZ Stadium, Sydney

Kick-off: 7.40pm

UC Brumbies

1. Scott Sio

2. Ruaidhri Murphy

3. Ben Alexander

4. Scott Fardy

5. Leon Power  

6. Jordan Smiler

7. Jarrad Butler

8. Ben Mowen  (c)

9. Nic White       

10. Christian Lealiifano 

11. Robbie Coleman

12. Andrew Smith

13. Tevita Kuridrani

14. Henry Speight

15. Jesse Mogg


16. Luke Holmes

17. Ruan Smith    

18. JP Smith

19. Fotu Auelua               

20. Jack Whetton            

21. Michael Dowsett

22. Clyde Rathbone

23. Lionel Cronje


Follow Commentary Box Sports on Social Media!

facebook twitter alt instagram tumblr

Add Comment

About the author

Drew Woodhouse

Our inspirational leader, Commentary Box Sports founder Drew is a born sports fanatic – particularly when it comes to rugby league, union, surfing NBA and NFL. A Brisbane native currently working out of Sydney, Drew’s occasional writing forays reflect that fierce passion.

More rugby-union News

Special Features