Saturday 17 March 2018 / 05:09 PM

Israel Folau wins 2014 John Eales Medal

Israel Folau’s meteoric rise as a rugby union star has continued, with the brilliant Waratahs and Wallabies fullback awarded the 2014 John Eales Medal – the highest honour in Australian rugby.

Folau became just the fourth back to win the award in its 13-season history, polling 314 points to finish 82 clear of 2013 winner Michael Hooper. Prop James Slipper finished third on 208 points, just ahead of blockbusting centre Tevita Kuridrani.

Encompassing last year’s spring tour of the Northern Hemisphere, Folau played every minute of the 15 Tests that decided the John Eales Medal, scoring a team-high eight tries and also leading the Wallabies in offloads, line breaks and tackle busts.

The former rugby league international and AFL player was also named joint winner of the Australian Super Rugby Player of the Year gong, along with NSW teammate Hooper, who took out the Australia’s Choice award.

Add Comment

About the author

Commentary Box Sports

Commentary Box Sports invites a forum of truth and uncensored discussion of not only Australia’s greatest pastime, the world's. We offer around the world, up-to-date coverage of the sports we love and live by.

More rugby-union News

Special Features