Friday 19 January 2018 / 01:01 PM

IRB player of the year contenders

The International Rugby Board has nominated five players for their prestigious World Rugby Player of the Year award.

New Zealand’s dominance on the international rugby scene is reflected by their players’ performance at the awards.

New Zealanders have taken out the award six times since its inception in 2001 and two All Blacks have gained nominations this year, winger Julian Savea and lock Brodie Retallick.


Two South Africans have earned nods, with fullback Willie le Roux and number eight Duane Vermeulen among the nominations.


The last nomination goes to Ireland’s fly-half Jonathon , who is looking to become the first Irishman to win the award since Keith Wood took out the inaugural gong.


The nominees were chosen by a nine-man independent IRB Awards panel.


The panel consists of Will Greenwood, Gavin Hastings, Raphaël Ibanez, Francois Pienaar, Agustín Pichot, Scott Quinnell, Tana Umaga, Paul Wallace and chairman John Eales – a veritable who’s who of Test rugby greats.


The winner will be announced at their nation’s final test of 2014.


You can have your say on the eventual winner, too – the panel will take into consideration fan’s opinions voiced via social media.


[Credit: YouTube: IRB]

Add Comment

About the author

Commentary Box Sports

Commentary Box Sports invites a forum of truth and uncensored discussion of not only Australia’s greatest pastime, the world's. We offer around the world, up-to-date coverage of the sports we love and live by.

More rugby-union News

Special Features