Monday 19 March 2018 / 10:25 AM

Highlanders Make Seven Changes

Seven changes have been made to the starting XV that played the Bulls last weekend in Pretoria.

In the forwards, a new front row will take the field with Tony Woodcock, Liam Coltman and Ma’afu Fia joining the starting XV. Josh Bekhuis returns from a shoulder injury and will join Brad Thorn in the second row. TJ Ioane will start on the blindside with Joe Wheeler moving to the reserves.


In the backline, first five eighth Hayden Parker will start with Colin Slade moving to the reserves. Ma’a Nonu makes his return to the team after a knee injury, replacing Shaun Treeby who suffered a head knock last weekend. The final backline change is Jason Emery who comes in for Tino Nemani – who moves to the reserves and is bracketed with Trent Renata.

Brad Thorn will captain the side.

Highlanders v Western Force

1. Tony Woodcock

2. Liam Coltman

3. Ma’afu Fia

4. Brad Thorn (captain)

5. Josh Bekhuis

6. TJ Ioane

7. John Hardie

8. Mose Tuiali’i

9. Aaron Smith

10. Hayden Parker

11. Hosea Gear (vice-captain)

12. Ma’a Nonu

13. Tamati Ellison

14. Jason Emery

15. Ben Smith


16. Andrew Hore

17. Bronson Murray

18. Joe Wheeler

19. Elliot Dixon

20. Fumiaki Tanaka

21. Colin Slade

22. Tino Nemani/Trent Renata

Add Comment

About the author

Mark Woodhouse

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Donec quam felis, ultricies nec, pellentesque eu, pretium quis, sem. Nulla consequat massa quis enim. Donec pede justo, fringilla vel, aliquet nec, vulputate eget, arcu. In enim justo, rhoncus ut, imperdiet a, venenatis vitae, justo. Nullam dictum felis eu pede mollis pretium. Integer tincidunt. Cras dapibus. Vivamus elementum semper nisi.

More rugby-union News

Special Features