Saturday 24 March 2018 / 01:33 PM

Under-20s Origin teams named

Queensland and New South Wales have named their teams for the Under-20s Origin encounter, which will be played as a curtain-raiser to the State of Origin decider at Suncorp Stadium next Wednesday.

The junior Maroons team is dominated by Broncos, with 10 players from the club’s NYC team in the 18-man squad – including nine in the starting line-up. Four Cowboys were selected.

Broncos centre Jordan Drew and Raiders forward Luke Bateman are the only members of the Queensland side with NRL experience, but Broncos halves Jayden Nikorima and Ashley Taylor are regarded as future stars. South Sydney assistant Kurt Wrigley will coach the side.

Ten of the 16 clubs are represented in the junior Blues side, with Sydney Roosters and Penrith providing three each. Players to watch include Roosters prodigy Jackson Hastings, fellow NRL-experienced backs Robert Jennings and John Olive, and fullback Latrell Mitchell, who is regarded as one of the game’s hottest properties and a potential replacement for Roger Tuivasa-Sheck as the Roosters’ No.1 in 2016.

Former Test forward Dean Pay in the NSW coach.

QLD Under-20s State of Origin Team:


1. Paul Byrnes (Brisbane Broncos)

2. Gideon Mosby-Gela (North Queensland Cowboys)

3. Jordan Drew (Brisbane Broncos)

4. Marion Seve (Wests Tigers)

5. Conor Carey (North Queensland Cowboys)

6. Jayden Nikorima (Brisbane Broncos)

7. Ashley Taylor (Brisbane Broncos)

8. George Fai (Brisbane Broncos)

9. Jayden Berrell (Brisbane Broncos)

10. Lindsay Collins (Brisbane Broncos)

11. Coen Hess (North Queensland Cowboys)

12. Alex Barr (Brisbane Broncos)

13. Jai Arrow (Brisbane Broncos)

14. Karl Lawton (Gold Coast Titans)

15. Luke Bateman (Canberra Raiders)

16. Sam Lavea (Brisbane Broncos)

17. Oshae Tuiasau (Gold Coast Titans)

18. Andrew Niemoeller (North Queensland Cowboys)

NSW Under-20s State of Origin Team


1. Latrell Mitchell (Sydney Roosters)

2. Brian Kelly (Gold Coast)

3. John Olive (South Sydney)

4. Robert Jennings (Penrith)

5. Brent Naden (Penrith)

6. Jackson Hastings (Sydney Roosters)

7. Drew Hutchison (St George Illawarra)

8. Alex Twal (Parramatta)

9. Grant Garvey (Sydney Roosters)

10. Liam Knight (Manly)

11. Joe Stimson (Melbourne)

12. Tyrell Fuimaono (Parramatta)

13. Luke Yates (Newcastle)

14. Jacob Liddle (Wests Tigers)

15. Oliver Clarke (Penrith)

16. Addison Demetriou (Manly)

17. Hame Sele (St George Illawarra)

18. Matt Woods (Wests Tigers)

Add Comment

About the author

Comm Box Sports

Commentary Box Sports invites a forum of truth and uncensored discussion of not only Australia’s greatest past time, the worlds. We offer around the world, up to date coverage of the sports we love and live by.

More nrl News

Special Features