Tuesday 20 March 2018 / 10:55 AM


Brisbane host Penrith tonight in a sudden-death semi at Suncorp Stadium – a venue the Panthers have traditionally had trouble with. Flashback Friday relives one such occasion, with the Broncos turning on the razzle-dazzle in a second-half rout in 2009.

The unfancied Panthers took it to the star-studded Broncos in the first half to take a 24-18 lead into the sheds, but the visitors were subjected to a Brisbane blitzkrieg in the second half.

The Broncos ran in seven unanswered tries to carve out an emphatic 58-24 victory, capped by one of the most remarkable buzzer-beating tries ever scored – a 90-metre effort featuring a Darren Lockyer kick, brilliant touches from Antonio Winterstein, Dave Taylor and Lagi Setu, and finished off by Ben Te’o in the corner 12 seconds after the siren sounded.

Lockyer was a clear man of the match.

Impressively, the Broncos will field three survivors from that clash eight years ago: Alex Glenn, Sam Thaiday and Josh McGuire, while Andrew McCullough is on the injured list.

The only survivor in tonight’s Panthers line-up is Peter Wallace, who played halfback for the Broncos in the ’09 drubbing. Other survivors still in the NRL include Winterstein, Taylor, Michael Gordon, Wade Graham, Frank Pritchard, Luke Lewis, Gavin Cooper, Joseph Paulo and Tim Grant.

ROUND 23, 2009: Brisbane Broncos 58 (Karmichael Hunt 2, Ben Te’o 2, Antonio Winterstein, Jharal Yow Yeh, Dave Taylor, Sam Thaiday, Josh McGuire, Ashton Sims tries; Corey Parker 9 goals) defeated Penrith 24 (Brad Tighe, Luke Walsh, Trent Waterhouse, Frank Pritchard tries; Michael Gordon 4 goals).

[YouTube – RugbyLeagueTV]

Add Comment

About the author

Will Evans

CBS’s Editor-in-Chief and lead rugby league, union and cricket writer, Will is a Christchurch-based freelancer, also writing for Big League and Rugby League Review magazines, and The New Daily website. Will has written four rugby league books.

More nrl News

Special Features