Tuesday 20 February 2018 / 04:44 AM

Queensland name line-up for Origin decider

Queensland has named its team for the State of Origin decider on July 8 at Suncorp Stadium, with the Maroons’ 17 featuring a return from injury, a re-call, a debut and a high-profile casualty.

Cooper Cronk has been named despite not playing since Round 13 due to a knee injury. Daly Cherry-Evans’ ordinary display at halfback in Origin II has seen the Manly superstar dropped from the squad altogether, with Michael Morgan’s superior form and versatility preferred on the bench.

Josh Papalii has ousted the uncapped Dylan Napa for then interchange spot vacated by Josh McGuire, who suffered a season-ending Achilles injury playing for the Broncos on Friday night.

Billy Slater’s absence sees Greg Inglis move to fullback, Will Chambers slide in to the centres and debutant Dane Gagai come into the side on the wing.

In-form Canberra winger Edrick Lee has been named as 18th man.


1. Greg Inglis

2. Darius Boyd

3. Will Chambers

4. Justin Hodges

5. Dane Gagai

6. Johnathan Thurston

7. Cooper Cronk

8. Matt Scott

9. Cam Smith (c)

10. Nate Myles

11. Aiden Guerra

12. Sam Thaiday

13. Corey Parker


14. Michael Morgan

15. Josh Papalii

16. Matt Gillett

17. Jake Lillyman

18. Edrick Lee

Add Comment

About the author

Comm Box Sports

Commentary Box Sports invites a forum of truth and uncensored discussion of not only Australia’s greatest past time, the worlds. We offer around the world, up to date coverage of the sports we love and live by.

More nrl News

Special Features