Wednesday 21 February 2018 / 08:42 AM


TIGERS 18 d. BULLDOGS 12 @ ANZ Stadium

THE MATCH: The Tigers scored in the final minutes to defeat the Bulldogs in Sydney. The result gives Wests coach Ivan Cleary two wins from three games at his new club.

The Tigers started strongly. James Tedesco threw a brilliant cut out pass to put David Nofoaluma in for the first try. The Dogs hit back soon afterwards, with winger Marcelo Montoya plunging over the line after some neat decoy work.

A couple of Mitchell Moses penalties took the Tigers to a 10-6 lead at the break. The Bulldogs produced one of their best team tries of the season quickly after the resumption. Quick passing between Brenko Lee and Josh Jackson allowed Kerrod Holland to score a great try. Holland showed lots of determination to plant the ball over the try line after being partially held.

Both teams traded penalties to tie it up at 12-12. After a tight passage of play, Lee held back Chris Lawrence in a challenge for the ball and was sin binned, his act a professional foul. This proved to be crucial, as the Tigers were able to exploit some tired Bulldogs defence with four minutes to go. The Bulldogs raced out of the line, expecting Luke Brooks to attempt a field goal. The little half shaped to do just that, but stepped and kicked for his winger instead. The ball bounced off Jackson’s foot and landed straight into Kevin Naiqama’s arms, who gleefully touched down for the match-winning play.

THE MAN:  Aaron Woods. The Tigers captain ran for 218 metres and won the Anzac Day medal for man of the match.

THE MOMENT:  Lee’s sin bin. The extra ten minutes of tackling took its toll on the Bulldogs and proved the difference in an energy-sapping match.

Wests Tigers 18 (Nofoaluma, Naiqama tries; Moses 5 goals) defeated Bulldogs 12 (Montoya, Holland tries; Holland 2 goals) at ANZ Stadium.

Add Comment

About the author

Andrew Marmont

Andrew is a freelance writer, producer and presenter. He writes for Big League, Rugby League World and Inside Sport. His book ‘Their Finest Hour: A History of the Rugby League World Cup in 10 Matches’ will be published in July 2017

More nrl News

Special Features