Wednesday 21 March 2018 / 02:58 AM


Via QRL Media

Maroons coach Kevin Walters has today unveiled a new-look team to play the NSW Blues in Game II of the Holden State of Origin series at ANZ Stadium.

Tim Glasby, Coen Hess, Valentine Holmes and Jarrod Wallace have been selected to make their Origin debuts, while Billy Slater, Johnathan Thurston and Gavin Cooper are all back for the must-win match.

Cooper and Slater missed selection for Game I, but their impressive NRL form has got them over the line for the Sydney blockbuster.

Thurston is once again set to wear the No. 6 Maroons jersey after a successful comeback from injury for the Cowboys last weekend.

The new quartet of Glasby, Hess, Holmes and Wallace all have experience in the Queensland system, having attended the QAS Emerging Origin camp on the Gold Coast earlier this year.

Wallace was 18th man for Game I last month, although the Titans forward will have to successfully challenge a judiciary charge if he is to play next Wednesday night.

Players omitted from Queensland’s Game I team are Corey Oates, Justin O’Neill, Anthony Milford (injury), Nate Myles, Sam Thaiday, Aidan Guerra and Jacob Lillyman.

TEAM LIST (alphabetical)

  1. Darius Boyd
  2. Will Chambers
  3. Gavin Cooper
  4. Cooper Cronk
  5. Dane Gagai
  6. Matt Gillett
  7. Tim Glasby
  8. Coen Hess
  9. Valentine Holmes
  10. Josh McGuire
  11. Michael Morgan
  12. Dylan Napa
  13. Josh Papalii
  14. Billy Slater
  15. Cameron Smith (c)
  16. Johnathan Thurston
  17. Jarrod Wallace


Add Comment

About the author

Commentary Box Sports

Commentary Box Sports invites a forum of truth and uncensored discussion of not only Australia’s greatest pastime, the world's. We offer around the world, up-to-date coverage of the sports we love and live by.

More nrl News

Special Features