Tuesday 20 March 2018 / 02:44 AM


The NRL prides itself on being one of the most even premierships in world sport – but that doesn’t mean there hasn’t been the odd landslide result. We’re taking you back to the biggest shellackings of the NRL’s first 20 seasons in today’s CBS Top 5.


5. Melbourne 68 d. Canberra 4 (2013)

Melbourne and Canberra both headed into this Round 21 clash in the capital inside the top eight, but the gulf in class between the teams could not have been more disparate on this sunny Sunday afternoon. The Storm ran in 12 tries, including hat-tricks to wingers Sisa Waqa and Mahe Fonua – although the match is best remembered for the latter’s freakish try assist to lay on a four-pointer for Will Chambers.

4. Melbourne 64 d. Wests Tigers 0 (2001)

Wests Tigers packed a decade’s worth of lowlights into their sophomore 2001 campaign, including the infamous John Hopoate ‘finger-gate’ incident and the drug suspensions handed down to stars Craig Field and Kevin McGuinness. The joint venture’s season of woe continued with a club record defeat to a Melbourne side that failed to reach the finals. Matt Geyer scored three of the Storm’s 12 tries, while Matt Orford racked up 24 points from a try and 10 goals.

3. Brisbane 71 d. Newcastle 6 (2007)

The Broncos became just the eighth side in premiership history to score 70 points in a match as they dismantled the Knights at Suncorp Stadium in this Round 11 encounter. The incredible result came despite the defending champs’ dismal 3-7 start to 2007. The Broncos led just 25-6 at the break before piling on 46 unanswered points in the second half. Remarkably, no player scored more than two tries or kicked more than four goals in the 12-try drubbing. Justin Hodges and Karmichael Hunt were the standouts for the emphatic victors.

2. Warriors 66 d. South Sydney 0 (2006)

The Warriors hold the premiership record for the biggest-ever win by an away side courtesy of their 66-0 demolition of Souths at ANZ Stadium in 2006. Lance Hohaia scored three tries of the bench as the visitors ran in 12 four-pointers, while centre Tony Martin bagged 22 points from a try and nine goals – exactly mirroring his pointscoring effort against the Rabbitohs in a 46-14 victory in Auckland two months earlier.

1. Parramatta 74 d. Cronulla 4 (2003)

Although they finished outside the eight for the first time in seven years in 2003, the Eels entered the record books for this extraordinary thrashing of the hapless Sharks in the latter rounds. The blue-and-golds achieved the third-biggest winning margin and third-highest score in premiership history – and the most in each category by any team since 1935. Parramatta led by only 20 points at halftime, but the floodgates opened when Cronulla captain David Peachey was sent off for dissent in the 47th minute and Sharks forward Dale Newton joined him in the early-shower brigade soon afterwards for a high tackle. At one stage, the Sharks were down to 10 men after Danny Nutley earned a stint in the sin bin. Jamie Lyon crossed for a club record-equalling five tries as the Eels ran in a remarkable 14 touchdowns, winning the second half 50-0.

[YouTube – lockky24]

Add Comment

About the author

Will Evans

CBS’s Editor-in-Chief and lead rugby league, union and cricket writer, Will is a Christchurch-based freelancer, also writing for Big League and Rugby League Review magazines, and The New Daily website. Will has written four rugby league books.

More nrl News

Special Features