Saturday 17 March 2018 / 09:23 PM


David Warner’s ascent to the realm of cricket’s all-time greats continued with his second straight Allan Border Medal success, joining Ricky Ponting (2006-07), Shane Watson (2010-11) and Michael Clarke (2012-13) as the only back-to-back winners of the award.

Warner, with 269 votes cast across all three formats by his fellow players as well as umpires and media, edged his captain – and 2015 winner – Steve Smith (248) and Mitchell Starc (197) for the prestigious honour.

Although 2016 wasn’t his most prolific year in the Test arena, he still managed three centuries and three 50s – but it was his blistering ODI form that clinched the AB Medal gong.

Warner scored an astonishing seven ODI centuries in 2016 – equal second behind only Sachin Tendulkar’s nine (1998) – amongst 1388 runs at an average of 63.09 and a strike-rate of 105.47.

Unsurprisingly, the Australian vice-captain was named ODI Player of the Year, while pace spearhead Mitchell Starc took out the Test Player of the Year award after claiming 52 wickets in 2016 (along with two half-centuries) despite missing the first half of the year with injuries.

Meanwhile, Warner and regular opening partner Usman Khawaja will not travel to New Zealand for next week’s Chappell-Hadlee ODI series, with selectors opting to rest the star duo after a hectic summer and instead recall Aaron Finch and Shaun Marsh.

“David has had a very big summer and will benefit from a break in cricket, both mentally and physically,” interim National Selector Trevor Hohns said.

“He will travel to Dubai in the second group of departures to coincide with those players arriving from the one-day series in New Zealand.

“This gives Aaron an opportunity to return to the side. His form in the Big Bash League has been very good and he has earnt his recall.”

Allan Border Medallist: David Warner
Belinda Clark Medallist: Meg Lanning
Test Player of the Year: Mitchell Starc
ODI Player of the Year: David Warner
Domestic Men’s Player of the Year: Cameron White
Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year: Hilton Cartwright
Domestic Women’s Player of the Year: Meg Lanning
Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year: Sophie Molineux
Australian Cricket Hall of Fame inductees: Betty Wilson, David Boon, Matthew Hayden

Add Comment

About the author

Will Evans

CBS’s Editor-in-Chief and lead rugby league, union and cricket writer, Will is a Christchurch-based freelancer, also writing for Big League and Rugby League Review magazines, and The New Daily website. Will has written four rugby league books.

More cricket News

Special Features