Wednesday 21 March 2018 / 10:00 AM


Australia’s bid to save their home series against South Africa got off to a disastrous start in Hobart, finishing Day 1 of the second Test with an 86-run deficit after being routed for 85 by the tourists’ Vernon Philander-led attack.

The humiliation started in the first over, with Philander removing David Warner (1), who flashed wildly at a wide one to be caught-behind, before Kyle Abbott – the injured Dale Steyn’s replacement – trapped the recalled Joe Burns (1) lbw six balls later.

Philander had the home side reeling at 4/8 in the ninth over after getting rid of Usman Khawaja (4) and Adam Voges (0) in consecutive deliveries, while debutant Callum Ferguson (3) was out four overs later via a brilliant run-out from sub fielder Dane Vilas.

Captain Steve Smith valiantly attempted to hold the innings together and finished 48 not out – including a bruising collision with Philander that briefly forced the pace-man from the field – but he ran out of partners.

First-Test hero Kagiso Rabada had Peter Nevill (3) lbw, while newcomer Joe Mennie (10) – Australia’s next top scorer after Smith – was bowled by Philander, Abbott got rid of Mitchell Starc (4) and Josh Hazlewood (8), and Philander notched his five-for (5/21) with the scalp of No.11 Nathan Lyon (2).

South Africa made a sturdy start to their reply, until Starc struck twice in the 19th over, removing Dean Elgar (17) and Stephen Cook (23) to reduce the Proteas to 2/44). JP Duminy (1) last just four balls before Starc hit again, while Hazlewood took the vital wickets of Faf du Plessis (7) and Hashim Amla (47).

But Temba Bavuma (38 not out) and Quintin de Kock (28 not out) saw them through to 5/176 at stumps, turning the screws further on the embattled Aussies.

[YouTube – Cricket786]

Add Comment

About the author

Will Evans

CBS’s Editor-in-Chief and lead rugby league, union and cricket writer, Will is a Christchurch-based freelancer, also writing for Big League and Rugby League Review magazines, and The New Daily website. Will has written four rugby league books.

More cricket News

Special Features